Anxiety and Relationships

I am having a rough day at work. It’s almost 11am and I hear my S.O. is waking up and getting out of bed. I tell him that this work day is just going to get worse but he can help make it better. I made him a list of things that I really really really needed him to complete before I get off work. I need it. I REALLY need you to do this for me today. I am begging him.

I receive a hug and a promise that he will do whatever is on the list to take some stress away from my day. I tell him I know the list is long but the circled ones are my priorities. He promises me again it will get done. I return to my cage in hell office and continue to work until 6pm. As I am wrapping up my mentally exhausting day, I remember that my S.O. had been working on my list and the house should be clean and the appointments have been scheduled. I could finally relax.

I walk out of my prison office, the vacuum is right where I left it. The dog toys are all over the carpet. The counters are not cleaned off. I take a deep breath. Deep breath. How is the list going? I ask him over the tv show he is watching from the couch. “Oh yeah I’m still working on it.” I can see that. Deep deep breath. Do you mind if we sit down for a second with the list and go over all the appointments and stuff that you worked on? I know it sounds crazy but I would really like to cross everything off and add the appointments to my calendar. “Yeah I’ll just tell them to you real quick, we have a….” No. No, I need to sit down and I need to cross things off the list. Again, I know I am being crazy but it would make me feel better. “Ok do you want me to hand you the list and forward you the appointments from my calendar?” As I hold back tears I struggle to say, no that is not what I am asking for right now. I am asking to review the list together, it will make me feel better. At that moment all the tears I’m holding back explode out and I am sobbing. I am telling you what I need right now and you are not giving it to me.

He goes in for a hug to comfort me. I cannot hug him, I am too overstimulated and I cannot be touched. Anxiety overload.

I begin to vacuum and put away the mountain of laundry that seems to never go away. I notice when I get out of the bedroom he had cleaned the clutter off the counters and taken the dogs out for a walk. I spray the counters down and start the first of five loads of laundry….great more mountains of clothes to put away. As the house gets cleaner I am feeling a release. A release from the crazy OCD grip that is consuming my brain. A release from the anxiety of sitting in a dirty house filled with clutter. I think that if I can just get it clean that I will feel more at peace in my soul.

He returns with the dogs. He is afraid to get too close to me, that I will be overstimulated and cry again. I won’t, I feel better now. All I needed was control, control outside of my nine to five which I am not at a pay grade to control. Did he do the list? Half of it. I only asked him to do half. As I chug a vodka tonic I assure him we are ok. Time for a shot?

That was yesterday, this is my reflection on what happened.

This is what I need to come to terms with. He works a labor intensive job. He is on his feet 15 hours a day. He is not OCD like I am and is ok with dishes sitting out and clutter on our counters. I need to meet him halfway. He needs to meet me too. I need him to understand that my anxiety is heightened when our house is cluttered. I need him to take initiative to help me maintain our house so that I feel less crazy. Am I asking him too much? I don’t even understand why my anxiety is heightened when our house is cluttered. Ok now I’m having all these other thoughts. When I’m depressed I won’t clean the house for weeks and I am ok with that clutter. Like if I clean the house when I feel that way, it will mean I have to stop being depressed and return to normal life. Why is my brain so fucked up. Post for another time… vent sesh over.

Psycho Bitch out.

xoxoxoxox

Kelsey

Leave a comment